She’d Better be Glad She’s Not MY Daughter……

8

OK-here is my teenage rant for the week-and it’s not even about MY teenager!

If US Olympic gymnast McKayla Maroney were my daughter, I would slap her teensy little ass into yesterday for the puss she was wearing after receiving the silver medal last night on the vault. Guess what my dear-this photo is all over the internet-yay for you.

With all the accolades and pep talks these kids get going in to big time competitions-I guess losing (if you call getting a silver medal in the Olympics losing..) is not really discussed. And losing gracefully is probably really NOT discussed.

I would certainly like Marta Karolyi better if she yanked her off the mat and gave her a good talking to. And that lovely girl from Romania who won–she walked up and congratulated her, so did the Russian girl, and McKayla barely got out of her slumped seat to give them a half-hearted hug.

As a parent-I would be mortified.  Even in the smallest of competitions-good sportsmanship is essential.  Half the time the parents are the ones who makes their kids psychotic about it.  You’ve seen that baseball sign going around the internet-the one about hey-it’s just little kids playing baseball?  Right-they need one for all sports.

One sportswriter called it grace under pressure-uh, sorry dude-where was the grace? I understand this is the Olympics and all, but seeing the smiles on the faces of the folks from a country I cannot pronounce having a great time coming in last and stating that they are just happy to be there is true grace.  How about the amputee runner from South Africa?  How about the rower from Niger who came in an entire two minutes after the winner to the huge applause of the crowd?  There are too many to list.  That’s grace in my book.

So now, that is what I am going to remember this kid for.  Not her team gold, not her ability on the vault–nope, that sourpuss expression on her face on national TV.

Way to go coaches and mom and dad–great leadership teaches grace under pressure, and thankfulness, and sportsmanship, and class.

 

Follow up:  Check this out-Usain Bolt-class act…

 

8 comments on “She’d Better be Glad She’s Not MY Daughter……

  1. Allison Askins says:

    I missed the medal ceremony so didn’t see this. My heart was breaking for her until I saw this. You are dead on! Grace was not on display at all and shame on us for not expecting that of our team. Is it just me, or, this Olympics, has it seemed that we are much more about the gold than getting a medal at all? Amen to all you said!

  2. Forever 51 says:

    Thanks girlie–it just made me mad-especially as a parent–if my teen acted like that I would have growled at her-you’d better start smiling and fake it or you are dead….

  3. Lynne says:

    This is the same girl I was telling my husband about the other day… she was shooting daggers at her own team mates all during the gymnastics. I think she had a chip on her shoulders from the start. I totally agree with you though that if she were MY child, I’d be crawling under the rug from embarrassment from her attitude. I’m embarrassed to have her representing the US!

    • Forever 51 says:

      Well, being the mom of a 16 year old girl, that is the famous ‘side eye’ look that she tells me about-girls use it in the hallways to intimidate..lovely..it can work well too.

  4. As my husband would say – Don’t represent us shitely!
    To her I would say, Shame on you, thanks for continuing to make the USA look like a bunch of soiled brats

  5. Tracy says:

    Ugh! So classless. Learning how to “lose” gracefully is just important as learning how to win gracefully. That’s something I’m working on with my girls because no matter how talented McKayla is – she’s now going to be remembered as a spoiled brat sore loser.

    Tracy @ Momaical.com

  6. I agree… where is the coaching on how to lose gracefully?! She should of showed some good sportsmanship towards those who did better than her, because I’m sure she would of expected that had she won gold!

  7. Judy C. Adams says:

    I have watched this young lady from the beginning and told my husband she has a problem. She never smiled, always looking like she was better. I understand you have to concentrate but goodness me show some emotion. The icing on the cake was when her not even wanting to congradulate the winner. Her coach and family need to have a serious talk for she sure put the USA to shame with her behavior.

Leave a Reply

