When Life is one Giant Silver Medal

8

I am the ultimate silver medal award winner. Have been all of my life. You know-if you aren’t the lead dog, your view never changes?

Numbah 2!!!

Well, last night those chipper reporters on NBC made some sort of silver medal quote. Something like, “She will have to settle for the silver

OMG – NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO –kill me now, there go the endorsement deals, there goes the Wheaties Box, my life is ooooovvvveeeerrrrr, SOB, SNIFFLE, cough…..

Ladies and Gents–how many times have YOU won the silver?

Me? LOTS!!!

1.  Life:  I was always the last picked for dodge ball – I know it’s a cliche but I LIVED that cliche!

2.  Love:  Especially in high school-I was ‘one of the guys’, not the one you asked out.

3.  Boobs:  They didn’t show up until my sophomore year in college.

4.  College:  I did not get into my first choice

5.  Cheerleading:  My sister made the Varsity squad, not me–and we tried out at the same time-AWKWARD

6.  Prom:  My sister was asked to go before I was — double AWKWARD

7.  My first job was at Burger King–when they had those red & orange polyester dresses and caps-and I wore support hose and earth shoes, IN HIGH SCHOOL

8.  My Period:  My sister…well, you know…..and I promise I won’t go there about Homecoming…..

9.  Senior Yearbook:  I won for ‘Tries Hardest”

10.  College:  I went to a woman’s college..enough said.

11.  College:  I was invited to football games by the frat boys because I had a big handbag-yes, really-you can stuff at least 3 bottles of Jim Beam in there

12.  College:  See big handbag-great place to puke when you drink all the Jim Beam

13.  Career:  Wanted to be a Journalist. Worked as a waitress in a Greek restaurant and at a local Arts non-profit for $8K a year in 1982.  Then got hired at an FM radio station–did voice overs for a local jeans store and my largest account was a Lube place.  Wanted the McDonald’s account but wouldn’t do what was required for that.  If you know what I mean.

15.  Career:  Selling real estate–this really toughened my hide–I was pretty used to being ditched by guys, well in real estate it is a requirement for your staying power.  My therapy skills as a great friend has served me well in this career.  And, showing pretty homes all the time definitely makes me think every time I walk in the door to MY house that it is the silver medal winner.

But here is the secret-the silver medal is good.  It makes you try harder.  It makes you resilient.  It makes you appreciate the little things.  It makes you thankful.  It strengthens your faith. It makes you laugh and not take yourself so seriously. It makes you go out of your comfort zone.  So, I guess, settling for something is not always that bad……and silver looks much better with my other jewelry!

But, I HAVE received the gold medal.  In family, in friends, in humor, and especially in BC.  To put up with my crap, he deserves a Nobel Peace prize, not a gold medal!

 

8 comments on “When Life is one Giant Silver Medal

  1. EXCELLENT!!! Your post summed it up perfectly. I think I usually end up with the wooden medal. But like you said…it makes you work harder! Great post 🙂

  2. Allison Askins says:

    You are nailing it this week, girl! (And I never knew you wanted to be a journalist! You’ve definitely got the writing skills and on topic/on deadline, too!) Silver is so very fine. Struggling through this with my 13-year-old right now … everything looks glitzier on someone else or in someone else’s house. It’s about to wear me out. Does someone award medals for surviving this age? I’m just praying for the finish line on this race!

  3. Forever 51 says:

    Well, my reward is to hopefully have a facelift, or a tummy tuck..LOL! Yep-I always wanted to be a Journalist and going to Salem was going to be temporary-I got into UGA but freaked at the size and the distance from NJ where I was living–and then loved Salem-so I took another route-but we always seem to come back to passion–30 plus years later LOL!

  4. heartmom21 says:

    I was reading and smiling and then I hit the “big handbag” comments and began rollong with laughter, so hard my eyes are watering! Oh I DO know what you are talking about! My silver medal has a hefty dose of blood , sweat, and tears on it! It and the invisible set of designer luggage full of life’s stuff hang proudly around my neck! Here’s to finding your passion late in life! I am rediscoveering photography and writing. I wanted to be the next Annie Lebovitz and also landed at Salem after turning down a full ROTC ride to UNC-G…

  5. Forever 51 says:

    I’ll never forget when I saw that happen-thankfully not in mine!

  6. Robin Ford says:

    Well said MAP. I think I was at least a bronze or did not medal at all @CHS! But life is good and you need to be grateful for all you have. Thank goodness I did not peak in HS and life has been much more medal worthy since then. I too have the gold medal for husbands and that is what matters most!

  7. Allison Askins says:

    MA and Forever 51 followers,
    Here’s a fascinating article my husband found about this gold-silver-medal topic we’ve all noticed this year …. makes sense, but the question remains: How do we teach our children to be gracious winners, no matter the place they land?
    Here’s the article from Scientific American:
    http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/thoughtful-animal/2012/08/09/why-bronze-medalists-are-happier-than-silver-winners/?WT.mc_id=SA_emailfriend

    • Forever 51 says:

      Great article-there has been much discussion about this since the last week–probably more among the Americans than any other culture,,,

Leave a Reply

