Watch Out ‘Merica – The Mermaid’s Gonna Be On TV!

14

Oh, the power of twitter. And the power of that addiction.

I joined twitter in its infancy because, as a supposedly high-tech real estate agent, I was told to. I totally did NOT get it. And neither did a lot of other folks.

Since the time of its inception in 2005, millions of people have embraced the power of this little weird social media platform and have made money, met wonderful people and most of all, made cool new friends. I got back on twitter mainly to stalk my teenager a year ago.  Then I started blogging and met people who really engage and wanted to get to know me. Fancy that.

So it was through twitter that one of my peeps asked us if any of us mom bloggers lived near NYC. And of course, sensing an opportunity to meet new cool bloggers, a party, or perhaps, a starring role on One Life to Live, I replied – I live in Atlanta but I can fly for free!

So on Wednesday I am going to be on Anderson Cooper Live talking about the results of the election with an audience of other bloggers. It is in a town hall format. And I will have to bring the biggest filter I have because some of you really know me!

One of the producers sent me a questionnaire on my views (uh, oh) and needed a photo. And since I am an independent I will most likely be outed during this show. Uh oh again. Bring on the Xanax…

And it also got me thinking–I have been relatively quiet politically this election.  Mostly because it is mentally exhausting, dividing our country, and with my latent insecurities and tendency to want to make everybody like me, I just stay quiet.  I refuse to lose friends, customers and readers over who should be our leader.  I was a political science major in college. Mostly because I loved the department and the discussions over coffee and cigarettes that we had in the 80’s.  Prepared me to be a GREAT salesperson.  I even worked on the Carter campaign.  I interned for a Republican Senator my junior year in DC.  I met some really cool people.  But after 6 weeks in DC, I knew that track was NOT what I wanted to do when I grew up.

Shiny objects.  Anyway-if I do get asked a question, don’t hate me for my answer.

To me, this is not a one issue race. To a lot of others it is. And that is fine with me.  The one thing we really need to remember is that we CAN vote.

Signed autographs will be available Thursday.

OH OH I almost forgot-we will be able to post and live tweet during the show in the morning so follow me at @hellomap!

14 comments on “Watch Out ‘Merica – The Mermaid’s Gonna Be On TV!

  1. gail says:

    I can do media training for free, via phone if you like. Seriously…happy to help.

  2. AMathis says:

    OH. MY. GOD.

  3. Amy says:

    Looking forward to meeting you! I’m an independent also and typically keep my mouth shut tight when it comes to politics.

    • Forever 51 says:

      Yep my hubs is a rabid conservative and my closest girlfriends are liberals so its fun around here …

      • Terry Granger says:

        Just remember MA, not all Dems are libs, don’t confuse the two puleeese! Most ‘mericans are moderates!

  4. Such an amazing experience. I’ll be watching!

  5. Just be sure you drop lots of f-bombs and wear a boobtastic top. You can be the Honey Boo Boo of the town hall. Setting my DVR now…

  6. heartmom21 says:

    so freaking cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. cloverhays says:

    HOLY SHIIIITTT! What the heck are you going to wear????

  8. Gail Moore says:

    Don’t wear anything with busy patterns or stripes…looks bad on TV. Wear more makeup that you normally would (foundation is a good thing) and brighter lipstick. Dark colors look better than light.

  9. Allison Askins says:

    That’s fabulous, MaryAnne! Just be your funny, intelligent self and all will be well. (Insecurity is not a word I would ever have associated with you.) Your humor is such a gift! Use it ’cause we all need to laugh now that this craziness is behind us. Have FUN!

Leave a Reply

