2012 – Our Year End Letter!!

13

Since it is the end of the year and I am a NOT an organized make-up wearing to the grocery store wife and mom, I’ve decided to compose my annual Christmas Letter here. That way all of you can see how fun and dysfunctional the Mermaid fam is. So here ya go:keepcalmsanta

Dearest Friends, Family and Head Injured People with weird search terms on Google:

2012, adios muchachos!   Oh, we had some good times and fun moments, but we also have a teenager so they are fleeting at best.  As you probably have noticed, not many of your friends with teens have sent out their annual letters because by this time, little Princess or Prince may not be so royal as they were before the age of 12.  At best they are on track to graduate from high school and be out of the house by the age of 26.

17 is kinda a Junior in high school.  When she was 16 she had mono, recurring sinus infections, and continual tonsilitis.  Turns out the local public high school does not give a crap about  health, only attendance.  So we decided on a home school option that is working. Don’t have a heart attack. I AM NOT A HOME SCHOOL MOM.  (I bet you were really worried for a moment there, huh?)I gave away those Laura Ashley dresses a decade ago and I have short, highlighted hair.  This is a program where she does attend a private school in Roswell that keeps their thumb on her and lets her work at her pace.  Which actually is pretty fast.  She is finishing up one sophomore class and working on junior classes now.  She is still riding horses occasionally, bringing home stray animals, and had a job this summer life guarding.  Yep, passed the Red Cross test but has a problem understanding transitive verbs. Like those are going to help her later in beauty school…She has ended the year happy, healthy and loving Lily Pulitzer so for that, I am thankful. And broke.card

BC-still flying. International, mostly to South America and Nigeria.  Wow, makes me want to go to Africa-you get you very own armed body-guard! In South America he enjoys walks on the beach. I wonder why…

He is really in to his blender.  Puts all kinds of strange vegetables and fruits in it.  Makes me one too.  Who needs Ex-Lax when you have a Vitamix?  Still a rabid Florida fan, he went to his annual fraternity reunion in Gainesville this year affectionately called the “Creepy Old Man” weekend by younger members of the frat.  He hasn’t played much golf, but he does walk daily with his headphones on listening to the crazies on the conservative local radio station.  If he starts wearing white socks with his black Teva’s please check him into Sunrise Living down the street.

BC also finally relented and bought new filters for the swimming pool.  Green was not a good color for the pond that you SWIM in.  And our neighbors thanked us.

My year has been full of ups and downs, but mostly ups!  I was working full-time until August. I’ve always known and preached this, but you can’t have it all. At least I can’t. Working full-time, teenagers, husbands, dirty homes and trying to exercise and enjoy friends is an impossibility for me.  I’ve never claimed to be organized but this about put me over the edge.  Trust me, it’s easier to work when they are babies and toddlers than it is when they are teenagers…F51logo260

I am still selling real estate – have 3 new listing coming up after the new year and have the most fabulous horse farm listed in the Alpharetta, GA area.  I have also joined one of Atlanta’s most successful real estate teams, The Frye Group! I have known Teri for years and her systems and reputation are second to none.  This gives me the ability to list and have the best support for resources and marketing for my clients.  Real Estate today is NOT like it was when I got my license in 1992.

Find Me on Amazon!

Find Me on Amazon!

I’ve always had a real estate blog, but after encouragement from friends-one in particular that dragged me to a blogging class, I started this blog in June of this year. It’s one of the best, if not controversial decisions I made this year.  I am trying to stay true to my voice.  Many of you who know me know that sometimes I can have a bit of a filter problem.  But that’s what makes me who I am.  I have always been a ‘tell it like it is’ person. I tend to get all tongue-tied when I try to dodge the proverbial bullet.  What you see is what you get.  Take it or leave it. My favorite blog title this year was I Love my Friends, or, A Vagina and a Glue Gun. So there (sticking tongue out).

bloggeridollogo postelection2-275x200-1

Because of this journey in the past six months I have had the opportunity to be featured on BlogHer (the country’s leading Blogging for Women news and writing platform) twice, I have been included in two Huff Post articles, out of 200 bloggers that entered, I was selected to be in the top 13 of the Blogger Idol contest this fall, been included in a book on Amazon (yea, suck it haters…) meet Ree Drummond of The Pioneer Woman fame, met some other big time bloggers in person, was invited to be on Anderson Cooper Live with other mom bloggers after the election, and have some new and exciting projects planned for the new year. Who knows where this is going to take me but I am in for the ride! Hot Flashes RULE…

Travel-well, we are an airline family. But this year we stayed closer to home, mainly because of work but we did venture to Orlando, Jacksonville, St Augustine, NYC, Asheville (my visit with my CHS YaYa’s…), and my 30 year college reunion. We spent last Christmas with my sister Jenny in Germany and were supposed to spend this year in Paris but people are buying airline tickets (which is a good thing) and we got left at the airport (which is a bad thing) when BC went off to gay Paree for the holiday.  It was nice and quiet here and my buddies took are of us with copious amounts of food and wine.

Oh, and I am still taking lots and lots of photos. You can visit them on my Flickr stream below!

To accept whatever comes, regardless of the consequences, is to be unafraid -- John Cagle

To accept whatever comes, regardless of the consequences, is to be unafraid — John Cagle

Since we survived the Mayan thing this month we are now able to wish everyone a  Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Oh, and Honey Boo Boo starts back up on January 7th. See, we HAVE Been Left Behind….here-comes-honey-boo-boo-alana-august-2012

13 comments on “2012 – Our Year End Letter!!

  1. Jill says:

    Thanks for telling it like it is! Merry Christmas and happy new year to you and your family. Also, big thanks and hugs for supporting us at Steve McKenzie’s! See you soon in 2013.

  2. jnine0712 says:

    This was great and Happy New Year!!!

  3. Sue says:

    Love it Mary Anne. We also took our kids out of the public school due to “attendance” issues, among other things!!

  4. Emily says:

    Great letter! We have a vitamix too — can’t live without it.:) Happy New Year!

  5. It sounds like you had some great things going on for you in 2012, hope 13 is even better!

  6. mryjhnsn says:

    I love your family! Would you adopt me and mine? 😉 Congrats on all of your success this year and I am certainly glad to be following you!

  7. Thanks Merps!! That was great – you rock, Mama!!

  8. One Funny Motha says:

    You’ve had quite an eventful year – I can’t keep up w/ you. This was the best Christmas letter I’ve read – way better than the ones I get from my relatives. One Thing. I noticed the link to you site doesn’t work when you leave a comment. Instead it goes to forever51wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

